Warning Cookies are used on this site to provide the best user experience. If you continue, we assume that you agree to receive cookies from this site. OK

Glue Size Retarder 1kg to 25kg Bags

Contact us for a price
10 days
Weight: 2.00 kg per item
Glue Size
On backorder

TOMPS Glue Size Plaster Retarder. Sold in 1, 2, 5, 10 and 25kg sacks. The traditional retarder used within the ornate plasterware industry. A little on the smelly side but easy to use and less likely to cause a problem. If you add too much size to your plaster mix it will still harden, it might take a long time but it will harden. Tri sodium can fully inhibit plaster hardening processes.

This mix may be too strong for your needs, if it is, split it in half and add an equal amount of hot water to both halves to achieve the right concentration. The only way to establish this is by running pot tests. You should always use the same pot to add size to water prior to adding plaster, this will help regulate set times. So pick a small pot and keep it for just this job, often this is attached to a stick/broom handle and left in the bucket for easy mixing.


Mixing Guide:
Our guide to making a batch of this product is to add 1kg Glue Size crystals to a gallon bucket of very hot water. Dissolve the crystals fully keeping the heat in the water, do not allow to cool, you will ned up with a solid block. Next take half the amount of hydrated lime 500g in this case, and fully disperse. Now allow the mixture to cool. When cooled, it is essential to test the potency of your mix. Take a standard sized 100ml pot. Make three test mixes: Standard Plaster One x 100ml Shot Two x 100ml Shot Time the period taken to harden and adjust the amount of retarder liquid to achieve the required delay time. The measurements above are simply a guide, you can modify any of the ratios to suit. What is most important is the addition of lime to prevent the liquid setting solid.

We do not ship this product to the following countries:

  Afghanistan     Aland Islands     Albania     Algeria  
  American Samoa     Andorra     Angola     Anguilla  
  Antarctica     Antigua and Barbuda     Argentina     Armenia  
  Aruba     Asia-Pacific     Australia     Austria  
  Azerbaijan     Bahamas     Bahrain     Bangladesh  
  Barbados     Belarus     Belgium     Belize  
  Benin     Bermuda     Bhutan     Bolivia  
  Bosnia and Herzegowina     Botswana     Bouvet Island     Brazil  
  British Indian Ocean Territory     British Virgin Islands     Brunei Darussalam     Bulgaria  
  Burkina Faso     Burundi     Cambodia     Cameroon  
  Canada     Cape Verde     Cayman Islands     Central African Republic  
  Chad     Chile     China     Christmas Island  
  Cocos (Keeling) Islands     Colombia     Comoros     Congo  
  Cook Islands     Costa Rica     Cote D'ivoire     Croatia  
  Cuba     Curaçao     Cyprus     Czech Republic  
  Denmark     Djibouti     Dominica     Dominican Republic  
  East Timor     Ecuador     Egypt     El Salvador  
  Equatorial Guinea     Eritrea     Estonia     Ethiopia  
  Europe     Falkland Islands (Malvinas)     Faroe Islands     Fiji  
  Finland     France     France, Metropolitan     French Guiana  
  French Polynesia     French Southern Territories     Gabon     Gambia  
  Georgia     Germany     Ghana     Gibraltar  
  Greece     Greenland     Grenada     Guadeloupe  
  Guam     Guatemala     Guernsey     Guinea  
  Guinea-Bissau     Guyana     Haiti     Heard and McDonald Islands  
  Honduras     Hong Kong     Hungary     Iceland  
  India     Indonesia     Iraq     Ireland  
  Islamic Republic of Iran     Isle of Man     Israel     Italy  
  Jamaica     Japan     Jersey     Jordan  
  Kazakhstan     Kenya     Kiribati     Korea  
  Korea, Republic of     Kuwait     Kyrgyzstan     Laos  
  Latvia     Lebanon     Lesotho     Liberia  
  Libyan Arab Jamahiriya     Liechtenstein     Lithuania     Luxembourg  
  Macau     Macedonia     Madagascar     Malawi  
  Malaysia     Maldives     Mali     Malta  
  Marshall Islands     Martinique     Mauritania     Mauritius  
  Mayotte     Mexico     Micronesia     Moldova, Republic of  
  Monaco     Mongolia     Montenegro     Montserrat  
  Morocco     Mozambique     Myanmar     Namibia  
  Nauru     Nepal     Netherlands     New Caledonia  
  New Zealand     Nicaragua     Niger     Nigeria  
  Niue     Norfolk Island     Northern Mariana Islands     Norway  
  Oman     Pakistan     Palau     Palestine Authority  
  Panama     Papua New Guinea     Paraguay     Peru  
  Philippines     Pitcairn     Poland     Portugal  
  Puerto Rico     Qatar     Republic of Serbia     Reunion  
  Romania     Russian Federation     Rwanda     Saint Lucia  
  Samoa     San Marino     Sao Tome and Principe     Saudi Arabia  
  Senegal     Serbia     Seychelles     Sierra Leone  
  Singapore     Sint Maarten     Slovakia     Slovenia  
  Solomon Islands     Somalia     South Africa     Spain  
  Sri Lanka     St. Helena     St. Kitts and Nevis     St. Pierre and Miquelon  
  St. Vincent and the Grenadines     Sudan     Suriname     Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands  
  Swaziland     Sweden     Switzerland     Syrian Arab Republic  
  Taiwan     Tajikistan     Tanzania, United Republic of     Thailand  
  Togo     Tokelau     Tonga     Trinidad and Tobago  
  Tunisia     Turkey     Turkmenistan     Turks and Caicos Islands  
  Tuvalu     Uganda     Ukraine     United Arab Emirates  
  United States     United States Virgin Islands     Uruguay     Uzbekistan  
  Vanuatu     Vatican City State     Venezuela     Viet Nam  
  Wallis And Futuna Islands     Western Sahara     Yemen     Zaire  
  Zambia     Zimbabwe